AVIC411.com

(Double post. Sorry) AVIC-X910BT or the AVIC-Z110BT

AVIC-X910BT covered by insurance or the AVIC-Z110BT for an extra $450 out of pocket?  

5 members have voted

1. 1. AVIC-X910BT covered by insurance or the AVIC-Z110BT for an extra $450 out of pocket?

• AVIC-X910BT covered by insurance?
    • AVIC-Z110BT for an extra $450 out of pocket?

(This is a double post from the AVIC-X910BT forum. Sorry. I just want to be sure the X people and the Z people out there both see this.)

I had a AVIC-D1 until it was stolen from my car last week. They were not gentle and did a good amount of damage to my dash and the door handle. I'm hoping karma gets them back for me.

So insurance is going to cover a new AVIC-X910BT and repair all the damage. Or for an additional $450, I can have a new AVIC-Z110BT. I'm already paying a $500 deductible, so the $450 puts me up to nearly a grand. So my question is: Is it worth it? The extra $450 will be difficult to sell my wife on. I have no experience with either unit. Any one out there have any advise for me? Is the Z110BT so much better than the X910BT? Is it $450 and an argument with my wife better?

According to the X series forums, there still seem to a lot of inconsistent and unpredictable issues with those units causing a lot of frustration with users. The Z on the other hand is nearly rock solid and most seem to love the unit. I have owned both units as well as the Kenwood DNX9140 and I can tell you that the Z is the better unit. Also, the CES show is next week in Vegas and it is anticipated that the Z will get an update and new units will be announced. We will know the skinny as soon as the announcements are made so I would hold out until we see what happens after next week.