AVIC411.com

Upgrading a X920/X930 to X940 Instructions

I wanted to upgrade my x920 to the x940 firmware but I’ve never used testmode or hackmode before so I read up on it around the forum, pieced together all the information from various posts in different forums and figured I’d make an easier single post on how to do it. You’ll want two micro sd cards, it’s much easier this way.. I used a 1gb and an 8gb. (I recycled the 8gb one which came with my 2011 map update that I paid for from Pioneer). If you are going to recycle an old map update microsd, back up the contents to your PC first! You’re probably going to need a file from it like I did. Hopefully this makes it easier for people to perform the upgrade and you won't have to jump around to tons of posts extracting just the info you need.

Here are the steps I did.

1. I backed up the contents of my 2011 map update microSD to my PC then formatted the card.

2. Download the Z140 firmware update here: https://docs.google....wVDg/edit?pli=1

3. Extract the contents onto a large MicroSD card (I used an 8gb card)
  4. Download Condi’s RenewallFLip-AutoReplacer here:
    http://avic411.com/i...o-replacer-v10/
  5. Enter Testmode on your x920/930 by starting the unit up and pressing HOME and Rev/Fwd Rev/Fwd Rev/Fwd. (You might have to Fwd/Rev Fwd/Rev Fwd/Rev, I forget which one worked).. You’ll know it works when the screen turns black. Use the interface to copy the \USER\PRG0\APL\RenewalIFLib.dll to your SMALL EMPTY microSD card. (BE CAREFUL here, read up on how to use testmode if you aren’t familiar with it since you CAN hose your system up if you do the wrong thing here..)
  6. Copy the RenewallFLip.dll to your PC. Use a hex editor to change the offset at 1C30 from 05 00 A0 E1 to 00 00 A0 E3. If you have a prog1 folder copy the file from prog0 anyway!
  7. Save the edited version of RenewallFLib.dll to the SMALL microSD card. Extract the autoreplacer files to the small microSD card as well.