AVIC411.com

950BH Bypass in 2008 Accord.....Stumped!

Hi All,

Long time lurker but first time poster......so let the noob flaming begin.  And yes, I've done a ton of research on this forum and the web.

I bought a 950HB from Crutchf#eld, along with their harness, antenna adapter, sirius adapter and iDatalink Maestro SWC unit.

I have done installs in the past so I'm not a total noob, but never a GPS.  I had an installer put it in since I didnt have time due to my job.  He did a decent job and everything works good except for 2 things, which is why I took it back out to try and fix myself:

1.  The unit will not dim when the Orange/White wire on the HU is connected to either the Orange OR Orange/White wire of the harness.  I checked the connections thoroughly and even used a multimeter.....no +12v signal from wither wire.  I was able to work around this by connecting the Orange /White wire on the HU to the applicable cable on the hazard light.  Not ideal I know, but nothing else worked.  Is this a problem specific to the harness, Honda Accords, or a bad 950BH?

2.  No matter what I try, the 950BH senses movement and the bypass posted here and on YouTube do not work for my unit.  The VSS wire is not connected. 

I chose to move the mute wire one pin over (not down), connect it to the PB wire, and ground both. I have tried the following:

a.  I tried grounding the light green PB wire/moved mute wire together to the black ground wire of the harness...bypass does not work.

b.  I tried grounding the light green PB wire/moved mute wire together to the chassis.....no difference.

c.  I checked and re-checked the connection on the moved mute wire....it is inserted properly and in the correct position (1 pin over, next to the red wire)...no difference.  I even opened the white harness back up to make sure it was inserted properly, and crimped it up ever so slightly so as to improve the connection......no difference.