Getting to the service menu and these steps are exactly like the D1 pretty much. You will have to have the remote and one of your original discs.
The numbers on the remote work like a 4 way dpad when navigating. The 5 key works as enter in some menus, in some menus the 7 key did the job i think, and in some menus 1 was Back instead of 4 i think. I could be wrong about these but you shouldn't mess anything up pressing the wrong one.
Service Menu
1. Hold eject and reset at same time, release reset button once screen blanks out. Do not release eject button yet.
2. Screen will say "please push reset button". Release the eject button at this point.
3. Take your remote and enter 8 1 8 3 7 2 0 8
Flashing Software.
1. Once the service menu appears push 6 to go to the next page.
2. Use the 8 key to scroll down to "PROGRAM FORCED WRITE", select it with the 5 key.
3. Insert one of your navigation discs.
4. Select "SYSTEM PROGRAM"
5. Select "DVD/CD ROM". I think i used the 7 key to select it on this screen.
6. If it asks to select your language then select your language. i chose English and i think 7 was used again here to select it.
At this point you should see the % go up and eventually it will be done and you can press either the 1 or 4 key to go back to the "PROGRAM FORCED WRITE" screen.
Flashing Software part 2
1. Once back at the "PROGRAM FORCED WRITE" screen. Choose "APPLICATION PROGRAM". Follow the exact same steps we used in the "SYSTEM PROGRAM" area to do the flash here.
Finishing up
1. Once the flashing is done use the back buttons to get back to the original test screen. I honestly dont remember what i pressed to get back to it. It may have been the "clear" button on the remote.
2. Press the 6 key on your remote to go back to the second service menu page.
3. Scroll down to "CLEAR BACK UP MEMORY" (i think its option 5)
4. Select it with the 5 key. It should ask you to reset now. Press reset and you will be back using the old 2007 maps.
If you are doing this to sell your unit and the unit is not in your car you will have do the bypass on your workbench (ground the parking brake wire and move the mute wire) to reset factory defaults or your favorite places will still be in the system. I do not know if this info can be reset from the service menu.
