I've gotten the impression from reading other posts that if you let your iPod VR Catalog synch once, then you can turn off this feature and retain voice recognition as long as you don't update the songs on your iPod.
This doesn't seem to be the case for my F700bt and I want to see if anybody else can confirm.
Here's what I did:
1. Started the system with VR Catalog turned on.
2. Verified that VR works with the iPod ("play the album ...")
3. Turned off VR Catalog option in the menu
4. Verified that VR still works
5. Turned off system
6. Turned system back on
7. Attempted to use VR, wouldn't recognize my input.
I'm using a 4GB iPod Nano with a couple hundred songs on it. What this leads me to believe is that the index file that is created when it catalogs your iPod is only saved in temporary memory (like the system cache or something) and that index file is lost when the system is rebooted.
Has anybody had a different experience where the option for VR Catalog is turned off but voice recognition still works after you reboot the system?
In my opinion it should do what people expect it to do and save the index file even if the option is turned off. It might cause bugs if you change the content of your iPod, but so what? The boot time with VR Catalog on is ridiculous (at least the time it takes for the "iPod may not be fully functional" message to go away) and I don't have that many songs on my iPod.
