AVIC411.com

Newb Here: I have no idea what I am getting myself into here

hey gang,

just thought i'd drop in, say hi, and get the ball rolling.

i just ordered a Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT for 2009 Toyota Tacoma Sport from Crutchfield.

.....and to honest i know absolutely nothing about these things.

did a little research on the features i wanted. had a friend narrow down my search. and i pulled the trigger.

with that said, it comes in two days from now and i want to have it installed within the next week.

that leaves me little time to wrap my brain around what i need to ask an installer to do, so i come here for your advice.

I'm fairly up to date with technology terminology as I work in the IT industry, but have never ventured into the realm of car modding or electrical engineering, therefore i will have to have someone install this for me!

here's what it comes with:

- AVIC-Z110BT Reciever

- Pioneer CD-IU50V Multimedia USB iPod Cable

- Toyota Tacoma Kit 2005-up, E Black(?)

- Toyota/Geo Wire Harness receiver

here's what i want:

- speed/brake bypass so i can insert nav directions while driving and passengers can watch video.

- backup camera connected(already displays in rear view mirror)

- steering wheel controls to work with reciever

my questions:

- how do i go about finding an installer who is willing to install it to my instructions in Houston, TX?

- where will my iPod go when connected to the reciever?

- any other questions or instructions i should give to the installer?

- am i missing anything, parts wise?

Thanks in Advance!

I am weary of installers, to be honest.

I have a 1992 4Runner and took it to Best Buy to get my Z2 installed, and I'm STILL fixing their screw-ups 3 years later. I know they aren't "professional" installers but ever since then, I've taken my dash apart so many times that I'm comfortable doing so anyway, so I might as well just install the next one myself you know?