AVIC411.com

Toyota Tacoma - installation angle won't work?

I have a 1999 Toyota Tacoma, and it's looking like my AVIC-D2 just isn't going to work. The problem is that the Tacoma dash is angled down slightly, thus giving the AVIC a negative vertical angle. The AVIC headunits require a 0-30 degree vertical angle; no negative angle is allowed. This means that the AVIC can't calibrate the gyros, and the nav unit simply will not work correctly. I've been driving around with it for a couple of months now, and no luck. It just complains about the vertical angle being wrong.

So, has anyone else had any luck installing one of these in a Tacoma? (The older Tacos, not the new re-designed models as they have a different dash which is angled upwards.) I've looked at ways to modify the dash and angle the headunit upward, but I can't see how it could be done cleanly and without cutting away a good part of the dash opening surrounding the headunit. :(

Well, yeah, I've adjusted the angle of the screen to make it more viewable. :) It's the angle of the headunit itself that affects the gyros, though. Hmm... has yours never complained about the vertical installation angle? If you go into the Hardware Information screen (where it shows all the connection info), does it show your installation angle as okay?

If it's all good on yours, then I wonder why mine doesn't like it. Just to verify, your headunit does angle downward a bit, right? A couple of degrees or so?

Socal85, your headunit is definitely more level than mine. Mine most definitely is angled down a few degrees, while yours does indeed look pretty level. Well heck... how did that happen? I assume you're just using the factory brackets to mount it, right? If so, we must have different brackets that angle the headunits slightly differently. Hmm... weird.