AVIC411.com

CD-IV202NAVI install help

Hello,

I have a Z140BH unit with all of the 2013 map and firmware updates as well as having the video bypass. I was previously using an iPhone 4 with the adapter cable running appradio mode with no trouble whatsoever.

Earlier this year I updated to the iPhone 5s but decided to hold off on getting the IV202NAVI adapter until this week. I started the install and 95% of it is pretty straightforward and simple. I got all of the cables where they need to be and grounded the black wire as described.

However, my one area of confusion is with the red power wire which states needs to go "to electric terminal controlled by ignition switch (12V DC) ON/OFF". I am not an electrical engineer by any means so this step is confusing. From what I can tell, this must tie to the ignition wire or any 12v wire that goes hot when the car is turned to ACC.

I tried splicing it to the back of a nearby cigarette lighter port but after plugging the battery back in and testing it I was getting no prompt by the head unit that it detected appradio mode (however the usb charge did work).

I opened up my steering column and looked at the ignition switch. However fear of screwing something up took over so I didnt splice any wires there. I ended up closing everything back up and left the red wire from the IV202NAVI disconnected. So while the USB charge to the phone through the unit is working, video and appradio mode cannot be detected because no power is getting to the VGA adapter and I'm unsure where to connect it to.

If anyone has any ideas as to what I can connect that red wire to I'd appreciate the assistance.

Hello,

I have a Z140BH unit with all of the 2013 map and firmware updates as well as having the video bypass. I was previously using an iPhone 4 with the adapter cable running appradio mode with no trouble whatsoever.