AVIC411.com

Reception issues with HD radio and FM

Hey there

ok I am very new to the z110 and pioneer plus I am coming from a factory nav.

My install is now complete but I am finding some issues.

I have the following

MSN Direct

HD radio tuner

Sirius Tuner

When listening to HD Radio, tuning in a station I know is HD and should be clear as a bell has static or no reception at all.

The few HD stations that come in, some sound great, others not so much.

I cannot tune in any FM stations or select FM

Any ideas on this. Might be the user for some of it :)

You cannot use the splitter at all. Once you have the HD tuner plugged in and the anternna cable plugged into it, you no longer have access to the AM/FM options. Everything is through the HD radio. The antenna jack behind the head unit is no longer used. So from the antenna cable it goes into the MSN tuner then to the HD tuner. HD tuner sends the broadcast to HU via IPBUS. Since the AM/FM option gets eliminated I removed it from the shortcut screen. I hope this helps.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002E ... oh_product

I bought this thinking that would do the trick?

And this is a review from one of the buyers

"Well actually there is... Reading the installation guide for my HD radio component I saw they recommended disconnecting the antenna from my conventional AM/FM radio and connecting it to the new HD Digital Radio component. When I read the reviews of the HD Radio component I saw that everyone was complaining that they couldn't use their old AM/FM radio anymore because it was not connected to an antenna.

Hmmmm... The instructions were a little bogus - all the writer cared about was getting the new device connected and I guess figured that with the new fangled HD Digital Radio component attached, the "old" AM/FM would no longer be used. Think again.