AVIC411.com

Install advice for Z1 and 2007 Sport Trac

Great forum, thanks to all who are involved!

I just ordered the Z1 and will be installing it in a 2007 Ford Explorer SPORT TRAC. I ordered the Z1, Ipod Adapter and Bluetooth Adapter.

How hard is the install, really? I have plenty of mechanical experience but not along the electronic lines. I have installed radios, speakers and stuff like that on top of years of auto repair and so on. Should I take it on myself? How much do you think a good auto audio installer would charge?

Anyone know what I will need for the install if I install it myself?
I assume I will need some wiring adapters and so on. Any info is greatly appreicated.
The '07 Sport Trac should be basically then sme as the 2006 Explorer.

While I'm poking around for info where do you guys get your wiring diagrams? Looking for one for the '07 Sport Trac.

THANKS!!
well i cant speak about the ford wiring, but i "think" that its not a double din, but this is just a guess. But i can tell you i live in baltimore maryland and i have a chevy silverado and the local authorized installer quoted me $950.00 to install the z1, the bluetooth adapter, ipod adapter, and gex 5700 tv tuner. i quickly decided to do it myself.
[quote name="03Vic-HPP"]look on crutchfield.com and it should tell you what wiring harness adaptor you need, if it is the 26pin ford one let me know I have an extra one that you can have for $10 shipped....[/quote]

I will be installing the Z1 in the same vehicle but since Hellmaster inquired about it first then he should have first dibs at your wiring harness adaptor. If he is not interested then I certainly am!

This is what Crutchfield has listed for the 2007 Ford Sport Trac:
Ford Wire Harness
receiver, 2003-up
Item #120705521

Since it does not mention a pin configuration do you know if this s the same one? What model did you initially purchase it for? With that info I can cross reference the part number to see if it the same.