Is the Z1/Z2 right for me?

Which would suit me better?  

14 members have voted

1. 1. Which would suit me better?

• Eclipse 6610
    • Avic Z1/Z2
    • Other (please specify below)

Hi,

I'm a newbie here, and am not trying to stir the waters with my question. However, I'm in need of some good advice.

6 months ago, I was 100% sold on the Z1/Z2. Now that I'm within a few months of purchasing one, I'm having second thoughts. I've read so many issues with routing...which is not what I want to hear if I drop $1500. However, I've also read many individuals in the SoCal area claim routing is fine in our area. So, I've been looking at the Eclipse 6610 now.

If I had to rank in order of importance, I'd rank functionality as:

1) NAV/routing - very important

2) iPod - very important

3) Video (for additional monitors in the back seat - I like how the 6610 can have video running for other monitors...is the Z2 capable of this?) - important

4) Bluetooth (sounds like the 6610 uses Parrot BT?) - somewhat important

5) Sirius/traffic - somewhat important

6) Rear camera - somewhat important

7) Voice recognition - somewhat important

8) Screen / Appearance / resolution - not that important

9) HDD - not that important

I'm not too concerned about audio quality, since I'm not an audio nut. OEM systems sound fine to me, so I'm sure I'd be happy with the 6610 or Z2. I'm torn, because I REALLY wanted the Z2...but the routing thing would be a huge show-stopper for me.

With the above ranked in order of importance, what would you HONESTLY recommend?

Thanks in advance!

Gary

1-eclipse

2-z1

3-same

4-z1

5-same

6-same

7-never used it on either

8-menus and maps- z1, video-eclipse

9-6610 does not have a hard drive

if you decide on a z1, i got a barely used one for sale with bluetooth and ipod

Misfit,

Thanks for your opinion! Why are you selling your Z1? Are you getting something different?