AVIC411.com

Avic z110BT overheating I think.

Newbie here, I hope you can help and Thanks in advance.

Scenario: Had a Z110BT installed into my 2009 C6 Vette, works perfect until the car sits outside in the GA sun.

After the car sits at work and I go home the unit will not produce any sound until the car cools down. It is repeatable and very consistent.

The screen will display and I can move from menu to menu, put either the mute or ATT button will display in the upper right hand comer until the car AC cools off the interior. It has the latest firmware installed. (not the Z120BT upgrade)

I had the unit replaced last week and the same thing happens.

If anyone can help I would be grateful!

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I haven't personally installed one in a Vette.... But given it's cramped nature, I bet it's pretty cramped behind the dash.....

Is there anything blocking the cooling fan on the back? If at possible, give it as much breathing room as possible....

I know I make note of clearing all the wires and such from the fan when installing mine....

We have it pretty hot here in Covington, La. And I haven't come across this issue since the earlier Z's, which they released a "freeze fix".... in which all they did was turn up the fan speed...

Maybe even try to kick the fan speed up a notch or two in TESTMODE???

Some more info, this was pro installed with a very good shop in Atl. they have replaced the unit one time already.

All RCA connections all Bose speakers removed.

Here is a list of the items installed,

Sound Insulation and dynamat, AVIC Z110BT, Focal K2P, Custom A-pillar tweeters, JL Audio sub, CDT Amps. Custom amp/sub rack.

Also I will so a search on fan speed, but the unit never shuts down after the car is cooled. Only after sitting in the sun for a couple of hours.

Thanks and please reply if you have any insite!

Does the sub keep playing?